System Settings- Documents

General

Comment navigation Allows you to select whether you would like readers to be able to navigate between pages with editor comments. Likewise, you can set it up so that readers can navigate between pages with editor comments that have been marked as important.
Empty page Insert the text that you would like to show on empty pages here.
Watermark Insert the text that you would like to show as watermark when printing the document here.
Word export If selected, allows editors to export documents in Word format.
Highlight additions for readers If selected, highlights new content in the latest revision.
Revision bar for page numbers If selected, shows a revision bar next to the changed page number.
Update modules from Check Allows editors to update an outdated module from Check. Not recommended as this function allows editors to update content without verifying it.
Readers' change requests Prevents readers from submitting change requests.
User comments enabled by default Allows user comments to be enabled by default. If you would like to disable user comments for a specific document, that is to be adjusted from the document settings.
Allow removal of Revision Bars Allows editors to mute bars on a section level. This can be done from the dialog window that shows the changes made on the page when clicking on the delta sign.
Allow admins to delete archived documents Allows admins to permanently delete archived documents from their site.

 

Tags

Allows you to create groups of documents and tag them according to your own criteria in order to highlight their importance and make them more easily accessible. By clicking on the Add group button you can create a group tag and you can add sub-tags by indicating the name and clicking on Add. You can remove or replace tags by clicking on the trash bin icon in correspondence with each.

In order to apply a tag to a category you need to go to Manage Documents, click on the overflow next to the relevant category, click on Edit category. From here you will be able to select which tag you would like to apply and save. If you would like to apply a tag to a document you will need to open it, click on the cogwheel in the upper-right corner of the view, click on General Settings. Here you will be able to select the relevant tag from the drop-down menu.

Editor

Allows you to enable/disable Editor tools. Note that if a tool is enabled, it can be used by all editors.

Layouts

Allows you to select the default layout for your documents and the layouts that editors can choose from.

Structures

Allows you to select the default structure for your documents and the structures that editors can choose from.

Modules

Allows you to choose which modules should be available to editors.

Page Labels

Allows you to create labels that can be applied to pages and chapters in your documents. Each label can be customized by clicking on the expand arrow. Click on Add Label to add a new label and on the trash bin icon in order to remove one.

Document Types

These are a set of settings that apply to all documents of a type. For a detailed description of the settings see the paragraph below. You can add a document type by clicking on Add. The number of documents using the document type is specified next to each document type.

Name Name of the document type.
Active Select if the document type is active. If it is inactive, editors cannot use it.
Default If default is set to yes, the document type will be used in all documents created unless specified otherwise.
Send reminder every How often reminders for new revisions of the document should be send to the readers. The frequency can always be changed on a document level.
Warning even pages in document These warnings indicate that the document is lacking empty pages that are necessary for printing purposes (e.g. empty page after front page). These warnings can be disabled if documents are only read digitally.
Allow reader printing Allows readers to print documents.
Allow reader printing without watermarks Allows readers to print documents without watermarks.
Show compliance connections in reader Allows readers to see the list of compliance connections present in a document.

 

Incremental naming

Allows setting a predetermined format for the document and revision names.

Design

Default layout Select the layout of the document.
Default design Select the default design of the document.
Default structure Select the default structure of the document.
Show page label If a label is applied to the page, select where it should show.
Page numbering format Select the page numbering format of the document.
Heading numbering Select the heading numbering format of the document. Note that if you select 1.0.0, for example, only headings up until heading 3 will be numbered.
Single page document If selected the document will be a one-page document.
Track changes Select whether or not the document should track changes from previous revisions.
Dual locale Allows having a default two-column structure in where the content of each column is written in a different language but their headings numbers are the same.

Workflow

Workflow Select the workflow that the document should follow.
Custom Workflow security If set to yes, enables managing the Roles inside each workflow step.
Roles and User Types If set to yes, enables overwriting the workflow security settings under Editor/Review Access.

Allows you to create and manage Workflows, which are the processes that documents need to go through in order to be edited, reviewed, approved and published. The workflow selected as default is indicated by the flag icon.

In order to add a new workflow, you should click on Add, and then give it a name and a colour for its first step. You should then select the User Types and/or Roles that should be part of this step. If a user is a part of a workflow step, they can move the document to the next step. In order to add more steps, click on Add Status. Note that once a Workflow is in use, its structure cannot be modified any longer.

Security settings

Requires password If enabled, the user that wants to move the document to the next step of the workflow needs to insert the correct password in order to proceed.
Requires approval by all reviewers If enabled, the document needs to be approved by at least one user belonging to each Role/User Type present in the step before it is move to the next step.
Requires four eyes policy If enabled, the document needs to be approved by two users in order to be moved to the next step.
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 1 found this helpful

Articles in this section